IG Punjab issued orders of reward and punishment to police officers

IG Punjab captain retired Arif Nawaz Khan issued orders of reward and punishment to police officers in orderly room held at central police office.

One DSP has been dismissed from service and five other DSPs have been awarded different punishments upon proving of allegations and charges levelled against them.

Inspector General Punjab Captain Retired Arif Nawaz Khan said that punishment and reward are the core steps in Punjab Police for betterment of force and it is clear that we have no other option except ensuring community policing for good performance and public service. He further said that police force is awarded upon diligence, bravery and honesty and at them same time they are also punished for committing negligence, carelessness and high handedness. Performance of officers and officials are also being monitored through an internal accountability system in this regard and I want to clear it that there is no place of officers and officials in this department who trespass their powers. IGP said that the process of punishment is carefully conducted so that innocent could be saved from punishment. These views were expressed by the IGP during awarding punishment to different officers in orderly room held at central police office.

IG Punjab reviewed the enquiry reports of 12 DSPs who were suspended on public complaints. IGP issued different punishments and orders of reinstatement whereas officers were heard and given full opportunity by IG Punjab to prove their innocence in this regard. On this occasion IGP reinstated 06 DSPs upon being proved innocent in the enquiry whereas 06 DSPs were punished according to their charges including dismissal from service of one DSP. The officers who proved innocent in the enquiry are as DSP Tanveer Ahmad Bhatti, DSP Khalid Masood Nasir, DSP Anwar Saeed Tahir, DSP Malik Daud Ahmad, DSP Ashiq Hussain and DSP Saleem Akbar whereas DSP Nazeer Ahmad was dismissed from service upon proving of negligence in duties, carelessness and corruption charges. Other officers who were awarded punishments of censure include DSP Abdul Lateef Kanju, DSP syed Mukhtar Hussain, and DSP Azmat Hayat whereas two year increments of DSP Ehsan Ul Haq have been withdrawn. IG Punjab while giving directions to officers said that only honest, diligent and hard working officers will be seen with respect in the department and process of acknowledging their services will be continued at every level.


(Handout No. 272)
Nayab Haider
Director Public Relations 
Punjab Police


Press Release Date: 
Thursday, August 1, 2019